College of Law Alumni and State Bar of Arizona Loan Policies
The Law Library is pleased to offer borrowing privileges free of charge to Sandra Day O’Connor College of Law Alumni and current members of the State Bar of Arizona. Law library accounts must be applied for and renewed in person and a photo ID is required. Borrowing privileges are valid at the Law Library only. Borrowing materials from other ASU libraries requires the purchase of a Community Card.
A photo ID must be presented when checking out library materials. Borrowing privileges are not transferable. Law Alumni and State Bar members may check out Law Library materials for 14 days and may have up to 15 items checked out at a time. Exceptions include:
- Items from the Reserve and Current Periodicals Collections are for library use only and may be checked out for 3 hours.
- Videos and DVDs may be checked out for 7 days.
- Study Skills Collection books may be checked out by Law Students, Law Alumni, and Honors College 'Project Excellence' students only.
Law Library material may be renewed twice so long as the item has not been requested by another borrower. After the second renewal, the item must be brought to the Circulation Desk to be checked out again. Requested items, Reserve materials, videos, and DVDs are not renewable.
Law Library material can be renewed:
- In person: Bring the library materials and your photo ID to the Law Library Circulation Desk.
- Online: Use the Renew Books Form.
- By Phone: Call the phone renewal line at (480) 965-2595.
If a Law Library item you would like to use is checked out, you may request the item and it will be held for you upon its return. Law Library materials are not subject to recall and requesting a Law Library item will not change the due date. To request a checked out item, please fill out at Hold Card at the Circulation Desk.
You will be notified when the item is returned and it will be held for you at the Circulation Desk for one week.
The Law Library has two book return locations for your convenience. The book return inside the library is located at the east end of the Circulation Desk and is accessible only during hours the Law Library is open. The outside book drop is located north of the Law Library's front doors and is accessible only during hours the library is closed. Books may be returned to any ASU Library. Click here for a list of exterior book return locations on all ASU campuses.
There is a 30-day grace period for most Law Library material. Items not returned or renewed within 30 days of the due date will result in a block on your library account. If your account is blocked, you will not be able to check out new material. Fees are assessed on the 31st day overdue. A $10.00 fine plus a replacement cost will be charged for each item not returned or renewed within the grace period. The replacement charge will be cancelled if the item is returned undamaged. Items may be renewed once all fees have been paid.
Exceptions: Videos and DVDs do not have a grace period and must be returned by the due date to avoid fines.
Library notices are sent periodically as a courtesy. Failure to receive notices does not relieve you of the responsibility of returning items on time or paying fees owed. You are responsible for monitoring your library account and keeping your contact information current. Notices are sent via email to the email address in your library account. Contact the Law Library Circulation Desk if you would like to receive notices in paper or to update your contact information.
Library fines totaling more than $10 or not paid within one month will result in a block on your library account. Fines for Law Library materials may be paid in one of the following ways:
- In person at the Law Library Circulation Desk. Payments must be made by check or with exact change.
- By mail. Make a check or money order payable to Arizona State University and send to:
Ross-Blakley Law Library
PO Box 877806
Arizona State University
Tempe, AZ 85287-7806
Be sure to include the bill you receive with your payment.
For questions about Law Library fines or to appeal a charge, contact Carrie Henteleff at 480-965-7114.
Refunds: Law Library materials paid for and returned to the library in good condition within a year of payment may be eligible for a partial refund of the replacement charge. Refunds will not be issued beyond one year after payment. Fines are not refundable.
For questions about Law Library materials or policies, please contact the Ross-Blakley Law Library Circulation Desk (480) 965-6144.